Enhance DNA match experience for Ancestry site
Version 4.3 updated to add the feature of filtering by "Unlinked Tree" results. "Unlinked Tree" entries are normally shown on the AncestryDNA results page, but can be hidden from view via the standard context menu checkmark, or the extension options page.
Updated to reintroduce the previous feature of filtering by "No Trees" results, while we wait for the Ancestry beta to become a public release. "No Trees" entries are normally shown on the AncestryDNA results page, but can be hidden from view via the standard context menu checkmark, or the extension options page. Got tired of the waiting….
Adds the filter option: "show No Profile Photo". The option is on by default to show AncestryDNA Results listings regardless of whether they have a profile photo (i.e. the standard behavior without MedBetterDNA active). If the option is unchecked, only listings with a profile photo are shown, and the rest are filtered from view.
After installation, MedBetterDNA adds an entry for itself to the context menu (right mouse click). When your browser is at an AncestryDNA website address, the context menu selection shows the following checkbox choices: show Starred entries; show unStarred entries; show Moderate confidence; show Good confidence; show High confidence; show Very High confidence; show Extremely High confidence; show No Profile Photo; always show Notes; and Configure options;
In addition, medBetterDNA has a stand-alone configure page to set the checkmark options if you cannot or do not wish to use the context menu. This is accessed from the Options links of MedBetterDNA on the Extension page of the Chrome browser.
By default, all options are checked except "always show Notes". When a checkmark is unchecked, all entries that match that condition are hidden from view. Note that it is perfectly possible to uncheck combinations which will hide all entries, e.g. uncheck both "show Starred entries" and "show unStarred entries".
If the "always show Notes" option is checked, all existing notes for DNA match entries will show on the main listing page simultaneously, without having to click on each note to see them one at a time.
There is support for advanced filtering based on notes hashtags. These are the "show only Notes with hashtag" and "remove all Notes with hashtag" selections. The "Always show Notes" option must be checked for the advanced filtering to work (i.e. Notes must be showing on the results page). Up to eight hashtags can be specified to show only records with notes containing one or more those hashtags, and up to eight hashtags can be specified to remove any records with notes which contain one or more of the hashtags.
The hashtags are not case sensitive and can be part of a larger text string, with leading or trailing characters not in the hashtag, as long as they are preceded with a '#' character. Hashtags must be set or changed at the main Configure page, but afterward can be enabled and disabled through the context menu checkmarks. Always refresh the results page after changing a hashtag, otherwise the page will not display the revised filters and context menu. Additional details and examples of using the hashtag filters are at the support page.
Recent versions add support for Australian .com.au, UK .co.uk, and Canadian .ca Ancestry sites in addition to the USA. Other domains may be enabled in future versions upon request.
Note that the filtering process depends on a particular website configuration and if that changes in the future-- and it has a few times in the past--MedBetterDNA will probably not work correctly. Please notify support if the extension fails after having worked previously so we know to make any necessary changes.
Note also: Chrome can get its context menu checkmarks for hashtag filters out of sync when set from the configuration menu page even after refresh. This appears to be a bug in Chrome. i.e. the context menu checkmark is explicitly set to off (false), verified as off in the program, and acts as if it is off, but still shows up. Clicking it on the context menu will get it back in sync. Yes, it is annoying.